Back to homepage

National Eye Bank of Taiwan

:::

Donation of Cornea

  1. Home
  2. Donation of Cornea

Transplant of Cornea

The cornea is the transparent front part of the eye. When it is dysfunctional because of an accident or disease, the visual acuity will be affected and blindness can even occur. Those with severe conditions as determined by the physician require a cornea transplantation procedure. A “Cornea transplant” is a surgical procedure that removes the diseased cornea and to replaces it with a clear and normally functioning cornea. As the medicine advances, cornea transplant is no longer just full thickness corneal grafting. A professional ophthalmologist will determine the recipient’s needs and then perform the full-thickness or partial-thickness corneal grafting.

Common reasons for requiring corneal transplantation:

Keratoconus

The change of the cornea to a cone shape occurs because of progressive thinning of the cornea and the cornea gradually protrudes externally by means of the intra-ocular pressure. Such abnormal curvature changes the refractive power of the cornea and medium to severe loss of visual acuity (astigmatism) and blurriness (myopia). Keratoconus can also lead to edema and scarring that impairs the vision.

Dystrophy of endothelial cells

The density of endothelial cells decreases each year after birth. Dystrophy of endothelial cells will result in loss of more and more endothelial cells, decreased water excreting function of the cells and swollen cornea and twisted vision. Eventually, the epithelium will also swell and rupture to result in pain and severe damage to the vision.

Become a Cornea Donor

The eyes are the windows to the soul. When the cornea is injured or diseased, the world you see is no longer colorful. It makes life and mobility uneasy. If you are willing to pass down the unselfish love to those in need or share related information with others, you can:

Indicate your willingness to donate and note it on your National Health Insurance IC card.

Indicate your willingness in writing

Get the Consent for Organ Donation at respective hospitals, public health centers, household registration offices, DMVs or service windows of the National Health Insurance Administration throughout the nation, complete it, and then put the completed consent in the business reply letter in the mail box directly. The information you provided will be reviewed by the Ministry of Health and Welfare Hospice Care and Organ Donation Intention Data Processing Group and your organ donation intention will be noted on your NHI IC card.

Provide information on line

Log into the Ministry of Health and Welfare - Hospice Care and Organ Donation Intention Information System or the Taiwan Organ Registry and Sharing Center and provide the information on line. Print out and complete the Consent for Organ Donation and sign it before sending it to the Ministry of Health and Welfare Hospice Care and Organ Donation Intention Data Processing Group. The data processing group will note your organ donation intention on your NHI IC card.

Go to the information system of the Ministry of Health and Welfare Go to the Taiwan Organ Registry and Sharing Center

Request promotional materials on donation of cornea to share the information with more people

The National Eye Bank of Taiwan has promotional materials and posters available on the donation of cornea available. Any unit or individual that needs them can request in writing.

Top

跳到主要內容區塊

臺灣國家眼庫

:::

眼角膜捐贈與移植

  1. 首頁
  2. 眼角膜捐贈與移植

眼角膜移植

眼角膜是位於眼睛最前端的透明組織,當因意外或病變造成角膜功能失常,將會影響視力甚至導致失明,部分嚴重者經醫師評估後,須接受角膜移植手術。所謂"眼角膜移植"是將患病的眼角膜組織切除,並移植上清澈、正常功能的眼角膜之手術”。隨著醫學發展演進,角膜移植不再只是執行全層角膜移植,專業的眼科醫師將判斷受贈者需求施行角膜全層或分層移植手術。

需要角膜移植常見原因:

圓錐角膜

因角膜變薄,圓錐形角膜出現並逐漸從眼內壓力向外凸出,形成圓錐形。這種異常的曲率改變了角膜的屈光力,產生視力的中度至重度失真(散光)和模糊(近視)。圓錐角膜也可能導致組織腫脹和視力受損的疤痕。

內皮細胞失養症

人出生後內皮細胞密度將逐年降低。內皮細胞失養將造成隨著越來越多的內皮細胞丟失,內皮細胞的排水功能降低,導致角膜腫脹和扭曲的視覺。最終,上皮也會水腫破皮,導致疼痛和嚴重的視力損害。

加入眼角膜捐贈行列

眼睛是靈魂之窗,當角膜受傷或病變時,眼前的世界失去光彩,生活上及行動上將變得不容易。若你願意將這份無私的愛傳遞下去幫助需要的人,或提供相關訊息分享給其他人,你可以這麼做:

填寫捐贈意願,並註記於健保卡上

書面填寫意願

於全國各醫院、衛生所、戶政單位、監理站或健保署的服務窗口索取「器官捐贈同意書」,填寫完畢之後將附有廣告回函的器捐同意書直接投入郵筒寄回即可。你所填寫的資料會經由「衛生福利部安寧療護及器官捐贈意願資料處理小組」審核並協助將您的器捐意願加註於健保卡。

線上填寫資料

線上登入「衛生福利部-安寧緩和醫療及器官捐贈意願資訊系統」或是「財團法人器官捐贈移植登錄中心」,線上將資料填寫完畢,將列印出來的器捐同意書填寫並簽名後寄至「衛生福利部安寧療護及器官捐贈意願資料處理小組」,資料處理小組收到後協助將您的器捐意願加註於健保卡。

前往衛生部資訊系統 前往器官捐贈移植中心

申請眼角膜捐贈文宣品,分享給更多人知道這份消息

臺灣國家眼庫備有認識眼角膜捐贈的文宣品及海報,若有需要的相關單位或個人,可以寫信索取。

Top