Back to homepage

National Eye Bank of Taiwan

:::

About the Eye Bank

  1. Home
  2. About the Eye Bank
  3. What We Do

What We Do

We are devoted to protecting the quality of the cornea as soon as donation begins so that the great love from the donor may gain traction and the recipient can see again.

The National Eye Bank of Taiwan is not engaged in the importation of corneas from overseas. It is devoted completely to safeguarding the quality of corneas donated by the nationals by providing related instruments and materials relevant to the in-situ excision and protection of the cornea. Exclusive storage solutions and containers for corneas are imported specifically from overseas so that the quality of corneas from donors can be better maintained as soon as they are extracted.

As soon as donation begins, we help confirm if related information of the donor is correct, provide related instruments and materials and help the ophthalmologist with the extraction, protect the post-operative look of the donor, and then send the cornea in a keep-warm transport box to the eye bank for microbial culture, cornea stratification, and endothelial cell testing. Cornea quality test results are provided to the surgeon for reference while it is given to a suitable recipient.
Some corneas cannot be used for optical transplantation with the viewing ability according to quality test results. Nevertheless, the National Eye Bank of Taiwan will help change the storage method and then extend the duration of storage up to two years so that the great love from the donor may be transformed to help those requiring therapeutic or emergency cornea transplantation. Such emergency transplantation might be unable to effectively restore visual acuity. Nevertheless, it helps protect the recipient from progression of corneal disease and from the possibility of losing his/her eyeball.

Quality Maintenance

Besides classifying cornea testing, the laboratory of the eye bank adopts air laminar flow equipment and periodically tests cleanness and quality of the environment and monitors related data on the entry and shipping of corneas and the transport environment so that

A series of quality control and maintenance is available from the start of donation to the preservation of the environment and the receiving of the cornea by the recipient hospital.

After the cornea is transplanted, the post-operative results and related microbial sampling reports are followed up. Related causes are analyzed and are provided to the surgeon for reference in order to improve the success rate of transplantation.

Exchange with the World

Eye banks have been in existence for years internationally. By exchanging with other countries on eye banks, it helps improve the protection over quality of corneas or facilitate preparations for further stratified cornea transplantation so that optimal quality is ensured both on the donor end and on the recipient end.

Top

跳到主要內容區塊

臺灣國家眼庫

:::

關於眼庫

  1. 首頁
  2. 關於眼庫
  3. 我們的工作

我們的工作

致力於捐贈開始維護眼角膜品質,使捐贈者的大愛心願完成,讓受贈者重現光明。

臺灣國家眼庫並不從事國外角膜進口業務,完全致力於國人捐贈之眼角膜品質把關,提供角膜摘取保護相關的器械及物料,並特別從國外進口眼角膜專屬的保存溶液及保存罐,使捐贈者眼角膜可獲得摘取後更好的品質維持。

從捐贈啟動開始,確認捐贈者相關資料是否完備、提供相關器械及物料並協助眼科醫師執行摘取,維護好捐贈者術後外觀,接著將角膜以保溫運送箱送至眼庫進行微生物培養、角膜分層及內皮細胞檢測,把角膜品質檢測結果提供給移植醫師參考並受贈給適合的受贈者。
部分角膜經過品質檢測結果雖然不能提供有視力功能的光學性移植使用,臺灣國家眼庫將協助更改保存方式後延長保存至兩年,將捐贈者的大愛可以轉而幫助治療性或緊急需求角膜者移植使用。此類緊急移植也許不能有效的重建視力,但可以保護受贈者免除角膜疾病進展至失去眼球之可能。

品質維護

除了眼角膜檢測分級外,眼庫實驗室採用空氣層流設備,定期檢測環境潔淨品質,角膜入庫及出庫相關資料及運送環境監測。

使捐贈開始、保存環境、受贈醫院接收到角膜,皆有一系列品管維護。

角膜受贈移植後,追蹤術後結果及微生物採檢相關報告,分析相關成因,提供給移植醫師參考數值,以達到移植成功率的提升。

世界交流

國際上眼庫已有行之多年,與其他國家交流眼庫經驗,提升眼角膜品質維護或進一步提供眼角膜分層移植的前置作業,使捐贈端及受贈端都得到良好的品質。

Top